According to a recent report from market researcher IDC, global PC sales are set to fall by close to 8 percent this year. A few other considerations are that we keep getting increasing amounts of cloud storage, improved web services, powerful apps, and streaming music and video. So computers with tons of storage and CPU power just aren’t necessary these days. Of course, one can make the “what is a PC anymore?” argument, but it’s obvious the traditional form factor is going away. So, will you purchase another traditional desktop or laptop computer again? Or are you able to get by with your smartphone and / or tablet? I would not go back to a desktop but continue to own a laptop. There is nothing like the haptic feedback of a real keyboard. I use VPN to work from home. And often have to type into Word or Excel. With the iPad it is a pain in the rump to type. Lots of typing mistakes and no ‘feedback’ when I make a mistake. I use the iPad as a reader (Kindle); checking emails; staying in contact using social media. IMHO, For everything else, iPad or Android tablet is the way to go. Not only is the laptop smaller and take less space but it’s also got a 5 hour battery / ups built right into it! ;) Mains power cord yes. UPS… uh uh! Needs are different for everyone, and I can’t see myself writing and editing without a traditional form factor PC. Even if I only had a laptop, I would have to dock it. I guess I just wanted to build a computer. As the years go by, it seems a NAS was the right thing to do. I like to have the ability to swap out RAM, Drives, Video and Sound cards easily. Plus, if you need to, popping in a new or more powerful power supply is a snap. Or, if you don’t use an optical drive — take it out and stick a storage drive in its place. I usually buy my desktops barebones or build from scratch. That’s why I think with the new Hasswell Intel processors, I am thinking of building one more, with plenty of expansion slots, and maybe call it my last one. Then I will use it until it dies. Probably get at least 10 years out of it — hopefully. More and more however, I find I’m the only one using the Laptops as the family has all moved over to the 2 iPad’s we own. Looking forward, I will probably buy a new Laptop however before I do that I need to find a good NAS device which I can use to migrate all the data from my Desktop and the two external eSata drives hooked up to it. The main reason I would probably goto the Laptop is simplification. I need to consume less space and we are trying to downsize and simplify at the house to make more room for other things non-tech related. I need to downsize I think. I still have the old school mentality that I want control over everything I own — but most of the videos and music I have stored can be accessed via online services anyway. Media takes up SO much space. If you want to do a NAS, I read about this NAS server software which looks interesting: http://www.freenas.org/ I haven’t tried it, but looks like it’s light and powerful. That NAS software looks interesting. I’ll take a look. That said, having just a slim, low profile hard drive with a network card — that’s really all i want. Small and quiet. My new motto. ;) I have a laptop and an iPad and both are used only for casual and lightweight work and play. The workhorse for me is my tower and I don’t see that changing because of the connectivity issues and uptime requirements. I suspect one reason sales are slowing down is the upgrade paths needed for any size business require more $$$’s, so businesses and individuals are making older systems work longer before undertaking upgrades. Laptop batteries are a joke, but I have to connect to the router through house wiring, so I do not use my laptop away from my desk in either place. I use the Internet a lot, though the bandwidth is pretty poor and very expensive in Cal. Those limitations make cloud computing impractical for me. I don’t have a smart phone because my eyesight is not good enough. I have an old-style Kindle that I use a lot. I like the fact it’s not back lit, which reduces eye strain. I have a second monitor in both locations as well as a separate keyboard and mouse and a large external hard drive in both locations. I’m retired. I’ll turn 79 next month. What I use my computer for is desktop publishing. I edit two newsletters for genealogical non-profits, as well as email for my family, Skype (in ABQ, where it works) plus read the news, and do genealogy research. I also do research for a website. So–I vote for the laptop, but if a tiny tower with easy hardware upgrading comes along, I would buy an additional monitor for each location and I would carry the mini-tower on the plane with me. One son had his smart phone suddenly die, so I am not tempted to try a smart phone as a mini tower. I love it. 79 and more Geek savvy than almost anyone I now personally! I love it! You bring up a lot of very valid points around challenges of even using the latest technology out there even if you wanted to. Sounds like the Laptop is for sure the right option for you in your scenario. A mini tower would just be added weight and a waste probably. Although you already sound like you’re all taken care of, I would recommend grabbing a nice Ultrabook like the X1 Carbon from Lenovo. It’s light, durable and has an amazing screen. I’m typing on one right now. (but yeah… it’s not cheap either) Throw a few external drives in there for data backup via a free product like Crashplan (local backup is free) and your golden. Love the comment! Thanks for sharing your story and your setup. Keep writing! When I first read the article I was adamant I would go Laptop only in the future. But then after reading some of the comments, I thought hmm….Desktops are nice for the upgrade and power. And then you can’t forget the tablets…. For the tablets, I personally refuse to do any real work on it which extends past reading email and responding with < 1 sentence. Anything more than that and I’m making a note to myself to respond with my laptop. I thought this would change when I bought one of these http://store.apple.com/us/product/HA663ZM/A/incase-origami-workstation but I find if I’m home with my iPad and need to type something, I’d rather grab my laptop than go setup my iPad with the keyboard…. So yeah, in the end I keep coming back to simplicity and a small footprint… My laptop with a docking station which has two monitors. Will see how that lasts however. ;) -Steve groovyPost Founder Tell me again how your monitors are wireless? What did I miss because that sounds fantastic. I do enjoy the easier upgrades and cleaning of desktops. Some laptop manufacturers still do not make it easy to get at the inner parts without dissecting the entire thing. I still have two old XP computers up and working that I use for various reasons. And yes I will upgrade and repair my current Acer desktop until it’s no longer practical. But if for any reason I decide to buy a new computer I’ll still be going for a desktop. Yeah I hear ya Stu. For me, back in my gaming years, desktops were the only way to go. Drive space is just too precious on the laptop not to mention the CPU and Video card oomph (as you call it). Are you going down the path now of the “All-In-One” Desktops or are you sticking with the Tower of Power? But yeah, Desktop’s rule. Even my 19 year old son going through university (college to all you USofAer’s) has a desktop. He had an old HP clunker that I got cheap from work and took that to his flat. But, to do any real work he needed something a bit gruntier. Built it himself and OMG the size of that box??!! Uses a 37 inch tv for main monitor with a dedicated real 2nd monitor. Uses that for extended desktop. Try doing that with an iPad or Galaxy Tab. Not gonna happen is it? Got 6 tb of disk space plus about another 4 tb on portable drives as well. Works for him. I agree — I don’t think the desktop is dead today however…. long-term I can’t see buying more desktops over laptops especially if you buy a few monitors with a docking station… Granted, desktops are less expensive…. so that might be a way to lean that direction long-term at least for now. Desktops require a lot of space with the desk and all. I have a very small amount of room to work with and generally do a lot of computing from bed (sue me, it’s comfortable and I have physical issues) so I contemplate the economics of a desktop, but the laptop wins. With my mobility expected to rise, laptops seem to grow in usefulness. The battery is a nice feature, but the main reason I prefer a laptop is the ability to move it anywhere with an outlet easily. Desktops are bulky and impractical to move. I heard some tablets have external keyboard support. When they become more powerful for less money, I may get one, especially if the battery life keeps up. Until then, I like my i5 processor and 6GB of RAM and 1.5 TB of storage. (I also prefer the compatibility of standard, non-mobile OSes as they tend to be more friendly towards more software. With as many small freeware things I use day to day, switching to something designed for more propietary “apps” just aggrivates my workflow.) When it comes to tablets and smartphones they lack much in the area of word processing. They keypads on smartphones are fit for a little fingered person not and person with ham hocks for hands. Tablets? Well alright. Swipe the screen and do whatever, but one and add a keyboard or for that matter get a Windows Surface. Touchscreen technology is being pushed by popular television programs like Hawaii 5-O where they sweep images from one screen across the room to another. Tabletop computing. So, I don’t know. Is it a good idea and will it catch on? It seems it may by the looks of some “smartphones.” I’m not sure I’m ready to change. I don’t like “Cloud Computing” and here again is another area we are being pushed into. How much easier will it be for the government to spy on us? Oh dear, did I say that? If it’s “in the cloud” you don’t own it. What’s that all about? Na, I’ll wait and see. Maybe my next transition will be to an all in one with a storage device. I’m for the old school. I’m up on technology but not sure about it’s validity. The desktop has too much capability for it to be totally replaced by a less capable device like a laptop or tablet. My primary desktop has dual 24″ flatscreens, 8 storage drives, 3 optical drives, 2 scanners and four printers attached. A laptop or tablet that can come close these capabilities isn’t available yet. As far as the cloud, I just don’t trust it! Anything you put in the cloud is no longer in your control. Uploading and downloading to and from the cloud is a waste of time and resources. Additionally, my 2 laptops, 2 tablets and 2 android phones each have their place, but don’t replace the desktop in speed or capability, and none are upgradeable to add newer CPU’s, sound cards, graphics cards, optical or storage drives… Thanks, but I’ll keep upgrading my desktops as long as there are components for it. While laptops are good for portability (hey, ask any thief) their upgradeability is poor (and choice of components extremely limited), keyboard doesn’t work for me, and glossy screens, the bane of my life. Ok, samsung make laptops with non reflective screens, but they are pricey with it. Smart phones are a pain in the arse to use on websites. Screens are too small. Decent tablets are ok, and to tell the truth the Galaxy Note 8 is certainly a lusting after piece of gear. Great to be able to actually “work with” Word documents and Excel spreadsheets. Great for on the go work that needs to be done, data entry isn’t an issue. Actually creating a decent spreadsheet on one might be. Again, no physical keyboard so not so easy to do “real work” on it. Much easier on a desktop. So, my dream kits: Full tower with dual monitors for extended desktop Smartphone (galaxy s4 or note 2) Galaxy note 8 – for on the go stuff Laptop – for working on the road but I’d have to have an ergonomic keyboard to go with it NAS – but using Linux software, not mickeysoft NAS – offsite for security reasons Oh, and a Startrek Transporter so I wouln’t actually have to spend time on the road… LOL I will buy a used iPhone (prepaid service plan) for classes, as a great camera, and “toy” use. I need an iPod for business presentations and games. My HP laptop stopped working properly as soon as the warranty was up – same with my expensive HP printer… My 1 week old Acer laptop (using at this moment) lost 2 directional key covers and Acer wanted me to ship it to them in Texas where they “might also replace the hard drive”. With many crashes I can see why. WHY didn’t they just do a “recall”. Also Acer told me there are NO authorized places I could bring it to for service, BUT MicroCenter IS authorized. If it smells like a lie, there is something to hide. I WANT MY NEW DESKTOP!!! Comment Name * Email *

Δ  Save my name and email and send me emails as new comments are made to this post.

Ask the Readers  Will You Buy a Desktop Computer Again  - 48