Windows Hyper-V

First, you need an AMD or Intel 64-bit processor that supports Second Level Address Translation (SLAT). SLAT virtualization hardware is included in most modern Intel Core i3, i5, and i7 CPUs. It’s also included in AMD’s Barcelona processor line. Even if your CPU supports virtualization (XP Mode in Windows 7, for example), it might not have SLAT hardware virtualization technology. If you have an Intel Core 2 CPU in your system, for example, it doesn’t support the SLAT feature, so you won’t be able to add the Hyper-V feature. In addition to the CPU requirements, your system will also need a minimum of 4GB of RAM and the 64-bit version of Windows 10 or 8.1. It’s a bit confusing, I know. And how do you know if your CPU supports SLAT anyway? Here’s a couple of utilities that will help you determine if your system supports SLAT technology so you can utilize the Hyper-V technology on Windows 8 or above.

Test System CPU for SLAT Using CoreInfo

There are a couple of free utilities that will test your CPU for SLAT capability. Created by Microsoft wiz Mark Russinovich, CoreInfo is a command-line utility that will work on both AMD and Intel systems. Download the zip package and extract coreinfo.exe to your C:\ drive. Next, go to Start » All programs » Accessories and right-click on Command Prompt, and select Run as Administrator.

Now, in the command line type: cd c:\ when the C: prompt comes up type: coreinfo.exe –v If you see an asterisk next to EPT (Extended Page Tables), you’re good to go. Your system supports Hyper-V.

If you run CoreInfo on an AMD system – using the same commands as above, look for an asterisk on the NP (Nested Page Tables) line. On my AMD system, I have an AMD Athlon Dual Core CPU, and it doesn’t support SLAT.

So again, you’re looking for an *, not a -. Here’s another Intel Processor which shows it doesn’t support SLAT technology. No Hyper-V for you!

Continue Reading Page 2 – Intel SLAT Tool »

Pages: 1 2 Comment Name * Email *

Δ  Save my name and email and send me emails as new comments are made to this post.

Can My Windows 10 or 8 1 Computer Run Hyper V  - 61Can My Windows 10 or 8 1 Computer Run Hyper V  - 75Can My Windows 10 or 8 1 Computer Run Hyper V  - 90Can My Windows 10 or 8 1 Computer Run Hyper V  - 22Can My Windows 10 or 8 1 Computer Run Hyper V  - 40Can My Windows 10 or 8 1 Computer Run Hyper V  - 9Can My Windows 10 or 8 1 Computer Run Hyper V  - 9Can My Windows 10 or 8 1 Computer Run Hyper V  - 93