When I wanted to show my wife areas in Seattle where I’d like to live, I wanted to do it on a real-time web map.  UMapper is a free online mapping application that made this possible using several different mapping sites like Google, Bing and a host of other map providers. UMapper works from the cloud and it doesn’t require any special software to function, just your web browser.  It’s relatively simple, but packs powerful features like tags that can make maps search engine friendly.  Although UMapper is free as I mentioned earlier, you can upgrade to a paid account that lets you place ads and branding on maps you create.

The map editor is easy enough to use and lets you insert a variety of objects into your map.  Maps can also be labeled with the “wiki” status so other UMapper members can collaborate and edit maps as a community.

Once you are done with your map, UMapper offers several sharing options.  You can post it on twitter, email it, send the direct link to someone, or even embed it on a website.

Overall, UMapper isn’t a webapp I will probably use very often however, it is great when you find yourself in a pinch and need a free mapping solution. Comment Name * Email *

Δ  Save my name and email and send me emails as new comments are made to this post.

Easily Create Embeddable Map Overlays with UMapper - 72Easily Create Embeddable Map Overlays with UMapper - 68Easily Create Embeddable Map Overlays with UMapper - 2Easily Create Embeddable Map Overlays with UMapper - 56Easily Create Embeddable Map Overlays with UMapper - 50