Nothing is more annoying than a video automatically playing with the audio blaring out of your phone while out in public. Especially if those videos are coming from your Facebook feed – it could lead to some embarrassing situations.

Keep Facebook Videos Quiet

The easiest way to avoid sound from videos is to set your phone to silent. Facebook says, “If your phone is set to silent, videos will not play with sound.” While that’s all well and good, sometimes you don’t want to set your phone to silent and you shouldn’t have to fumble with your phone all day just to avoid the annoyance. Luckily, you can turn the feature off. Here’s how to do it for Android and iOS

For Android tap the ‘hamburger menu’ located at the upper-right corner of the screen and scroll all the way down to App Settings under the Help and Setting section. Then, if this new auto-sound feature has rolled out to you, turn off Videos in News Feed Start With Sound.For iOS go to Settings > Account Settings > Sound and flip off Videos in News Feed Start with Sound.

Facebook claims that it was testing this feature and was getting “positive feedback” from its test group and has decided to slowly bring it to everyone. Thanks, Facebook ☹ I haven’t received the update on any of my devices yet, but when it arrives you can be sure I will turn it off. Are you looking forward to getting this new feature, or do you already have it? Will you turn it off? Share your thoughts in the comment section below. I go to fb less and less. I’m at the point now where I just check in weekly (or less) and look only to see if I have any personal messages and then at my notifications. I zip through the notifications, then a quick check at HOME to see my recent News Feed, and I’m out. It’s actually become a burden to maintain this. :p Comment Name * Email *

Δ  Save my name and email and send me emails as new comments are made to this post.

Facebook Turns on Automatic Sound for News Feed Videos  Here s How to Keep Them Silent - 30Facebook Turns on Automatic Sound for News Feed Videos  Here s How to Keep Them Silent - 22Facebook Turns on Automatic Sound for News Feed Videos  Here s How to Keep Them Silent - 80