It didn’t take long to run into my first issue after I upgraded my Dell Latitude D620 to Windows Vista SP1 RC1.  After the final reboot, my Sound Card quit working.  When I noticed it, I tried to adjust my sound, but Vista told me “No Sound Device Present.” Just for the sake of testing, I rebooted my notebook, but the problem didn’t resolve itself.  Fortunately, the fix was groovy, and I didn’t even have to scrub the DELL site for new drivers.   1)   Click the Windows Start Button and in the Start Search box, Type device and Press Enter Key   2)   Click the Plus Sign next to the Sound, video, and game controllers category, Right Click the High Definition Audio Device and Click Uninstall

  3)   Click OK when confirmation box appears   4)   Right Click Computer Name at the top of Device Manager and Click Scan for Hardware changes

All Done! The High Definition Audio Device should once again show your sound card, and everything should be work again.

Hello guys! I’m glad to hear the solution worked for you! Welcome to the site! I’m glad to hear it helped you out! Thanks for the feedback! Welcome to the site. Sorry it didn’t help you out. You should try posting your question in our Forum. That way the entire Groovy Community can give you a hand with your problem. ALSO WHEN I GO INTO DEVICE MANAGER I DONT SEE A SOUND, VIDEO AND GAME CONTROLLERS TAB, I JUST SEE AUDIO DEVICE on HIGH DEFINITION AUDIO BUS. HD AUDIO IS ENABLED IN BIOS. SERIAL NUMBER FOR MY PC IS 728045770336 – just incase you need it for troubleshooting etc. iv tried many of ways and still no joy. please please help as i miss my music lol i have even burned most of it just to play it through stereo etc. hope to hear a reply soon. thanks :) :OOOOOOOOOOOO Comment Name * Email *

Δ  Save my name and email and send me emails as new comments are made to this post.

Fix Dell Sound Issues after Windows Vista SP1 RC1 Upgrade - 16Fix Dell Sound Issues after Windows Vista SP1 RC1 Upgrade - 73Fix Dell Sound Issues after Windows Vista SP1 RC1 Upgrade - 2Fix Dell Sound Issues after Windows Vista SP1 RC1 Upgrade - 74Fix Dell Sound Issues after Windows Vista SP1 RC1 Upgrade - 81