Turns out, Google Apps for business (perhaps edu version as well???) by default comes with ads enabled in the Gmail web client.  Fortunately, disabling the ads is simple once you know where to look in the Google Apps Admin console so if you’re like me and don’t feel like giving Google free cash, follow the groovyPost step-by-step below. Step 1 Login to Google Apps for Business (or education) and click Domain Settings

Step 2

Under the General Tab, check the box Hide all ads for –

It’s hard for me to imagine how Google justifies displaying ads by default to their paying business customers.  Sure, for non-paying customers, that makes sense.  But enabling the ads for paying customer?  Sorry, it just feels dirty and dishonest.  OK fine, perhaps if I was a huge company, and the ad revenue would offset my monthly bill for the service…. perhaps but I’m going to guess Google isn’t interested in messing with a good thing here. As for the rest of my company…. Just filed a change control and disabled the ads. How long does it take to go into effect? Were still showing the ads in gmail and its been about 10 minutes. Will forward to out IT guy. Comment Name * Email *

Δ  Save my name and email and send me emails as new comments are made to this post.

How To Disable GMAIL Ads in Google Apps for Business - 81How To Disable GMAIL Ads in Google Apps for Business - 73How To Disable GMAIL Ads in Google Apps for Business - 42How To Disable GMAIL Ads in Google Apps for Business - 44