This allows Alexa to get a better sense of your voice cadence and pronunciation. And, you can go through this process as many times as you like.

Set your Location. For the most personalized information that pertains to your local area, it’s best to make sure Alexa knows where you are located. This is an obvious one, but the Echo doesn’t come with your location set by default. To set your location, open the Echo app and go to Settings > Your Echo’s Name > Echo Device Location.

Like in the example below, Alexa can’t make it out when I ask about groovyPost. So I select “No” where it asks if Alexa heard me correctly or not.

I will be writing up an article about integrating Google Calendar soon, unfortunately, I actually use the calendar on Outlook.com…so I too am hoping for better Microsoft service integration. I’ve put in a request for something like a batch of instructions in one. For instance, in the mornings when I come downstairs, I ask for the time, then the weather, then either music or the flash briefing. three different commands. I’d like to be able to say one thing and have all of those things happen for me. but they’re forever adding things, so hopefully that will come. They just added the option to listen to my complex Audible library with Echo — works Great!!! Any idea about future international support? Comment Name * Email *

Δ  Save my name and email and send me emails as new comments are made to this post.

How to Make the Amazon Echo Smarter Out of the Box - 85How to Make the Amazon Echo Smarter Out of the Box - 47How to Make the Amazon Echo Smarter Out of the Box - 92How to Make the Amazon Echo Smarter Out of the Box - 28